Thomas.I Microsoft BI & Analytics

A Site Dedicated to General BI Issues and MS BI Issues: Architecture and Technology

New SSIS book for BI-developers

Posted by thomasivarssonmalmo on June 13, 2007

I received a paid copy of Wrox: "Expert SQL Server 2005 Integration Services"  by two SSIS MVP:s Knight and Veeman.
 
Since the coming days will be the end of a hot period here in southern Sweden I will have have some time to read this book and try the examples. No golf in the coming days only SSIS.
 
I have only done a brief survey of the book and it looks good from the chapters I have examined.
 
One thing I do not like, however, is many pages of code blocks in C# and VB.Net in the first chapters. Gives me the impression that SSIS is not good enough and sometimes it is not. Still it have been good enough in the projects I have worked with.
 
Still, this book is a promising contribution to knowledge about data warehouse and SSIS.
 
Two other books on the market have been a little disappointing from a data warehouse perspective:
  • Kirk Haselden: "Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Integration Services" (SAMS)
  • Wrox: "Professional SQL Server 2005 Integration Services"

Both these books concentrated a little bit to much on SSIS features and totally missed the context of data warehouse/BI.

I will return with a more deep review in the next weeks.

Katmai will have to wait until CT2.

2 Responses to “New SSIS book for BI-developers”

  1. Jamie said

    "Both these books concentrated a little bit to much on SSIS features and totally missed the context of data warehouse/BI. "
     
    Why should they be anything to do with data warehousing? SSIS is much more than a tool for populating data warehouses. It has many many uses and nowhere on the cover of those books do they say they will concentrate on data warehousing so if you bought them assuming that they did – you only have yourself to blame I’m afraid.
     
    You also suggest that data warehousing and BI are the same thing and I believe passionately that that is not the case.
     
    -Jamie
     

  2. Thomas said

    Yes I am one eyed on SSIS and data warehouse. The previous book from Wrox(DTS) had a dedicated chapter of how you build an ETL solution for data warehouse. I like examples that you can follow and practise on your own. Downloading finished samples and reengineer them by running them is not what I prefer. I wrote this six months ago and after more practical work with SSIS I appreciate the Wrox book much more. Wrox also published a second SSIS book focused on DW.
     
    DW is only part of a BI-solution. Perhaps I was not clear enough on that.

Leave a Reply

 
