Thomas.I Microsoft BI & Analytics

A Site Dedicated to General BI Issues and MS BI Issues: Architecture and Technology

SQL Server 2008 book releases coming on

Posted by thomasivarssonmalmo on July 19, 2008

I did a quick search om Amazon for SQL Server 2008 books and it returned 3 pages of titles. Most of them will be issued during the last few months this year and the first months, next year. It is only Teo Lachev that has already released his Reporting Service 2008 book.
 
When I search for SQL Server books I look for well known names in the business and authors that have written good books earlier. This does not mean that my list have rejected other books because they are bad, it is imply beacuse I cannot buy all titles.
 
Here is the list.
 

Since the changes from SQL Server 2005 to 2008 is not that big most of the books you already have will not be outdated the day after the release of SQL Server 2008. I also think that most SQL Server 2005 customers will wait until SP1 before they upgrade.

Finally, What I am missing is a good book on MDX, like an updated version of "Fast tracks to MDX". I have not found that yet but I guess that a MDX book will not be a block buster and that I must find a general SSAS 2008 book with best MDX coverage.

2 Responses to “SQL Server 2008 book releases coming on”

  1. Chris said

    There is an MDX book coming: http://www.microsoft.com/mspress/books/12914.aspx
    I was approached to write it but my contract with Wiley prevents me from writing about MDX for anyone else, and they’re not interested in a third edition of MDX Solutions at the moment 😦

  2. Thomas said

    Thanks for that link Chris.
     
    Did you notice that the description does not seems to fit with the header?
     
    A step by step book is a really god news and I hope that they can cover the levels from beginners from medium advanced.
     
    I hope that your contract will not last for ever and that you can write something in near future.

Leave a Reply

 
